Who loves chocolate? Oh yes, me too. Chocolate is often seen as an indulgence, and why not it’s good to indulge. I have been in a healthy eating plan for a while now. I’m training for a marathon and some things have had to fall by the way side. Chocolate is one of them, but I like chocolate so why can’t I have it?

This got me thinking, so I started to look round and this is what I found. Now, I have no doubt that some of you know this. But it is good to actually see it jotted down for something to sink in.

A 100 gram bar of dark chocolate with 70-85% cocoa contains (1):
11 grams of fiber.

67% of the RDA for Iron.

58% of the RDA for Magnesium.

89% of the RDA for Copper.

98% of the RDA for Manganese.

It also has plenty of potassium, phosphorus, zinc and selenium.

There are many different kinds of dark chocolate, some good and some bad. For me there is only one kind and that is Green and Blacks, I tend to go for the higher content of 85-95%.

If you can not see this image please check you settings

I can already see the eyes closing and the taste buds of many recoiling in bitterness. But you get used to it, you really do because for me after doing without chocolate for so long, I don’t like the way milk chocolate coats the roof of your mouth.

Bottom Line: Quality dark chocolate is rich in Fiber, Iron, Magnesium, Copper, Manganese and a few other minerals.

Eating a lot of any kind of chocolate isn’t that good for you. Dark chocolate still has sugar in it, but in moderation the antioxidants will take effect. Me? I have 1 maybe 2 squares of dark chocolate a day. Again on slimming world ( for those of you that are) 1 square of the type I have is 1 syn, for others I would suggest you refer to your book or the slimming world app.

My other advice would be to go with a good quality dark chocolate too. In my opinion don’t go for the own brand type, but opt for a more recognised dark chocolate. Yes it might cost you a few more pennies, but in the long run you will benefit from it.

I could go on about how good it is at lowering blood pressure, may lower the risk of cardiovascular disease, may improve brain function. But here is a link to the facts on one of the pages I have been looking at, take a peek and see what you think. With just one maybe two squares a day what’s the worst that can happen?

You may get some benefit from it, AND you get to have what might be your favourite treat EVERYDAY.

Let me know which one you choose, as there are many flavours out there as well. Ginger, chilli, you name it. Let me know how much you have too, we can all do with a few ideas.

happy indulging guys. Luv ya xxx

If you can not see this image please check your settings

Leave a Reply

