#twitterdown

So with Twitter going down yesterday it appears that most of us rely on social media a lot more than we care to admit. I for one will admit that I had a slight discomforting taste in my mouth when I couldn’t send a tweet to somebody. How many of us felt like that? With social media still taking off in a big way, the world is becoming a great deal smaller in a very short space of time. Social media platforms are being created faster than pizza in a takeaway joint. Conspiracy theories will no doubt be born out of this latest crash from Twitter. And the theorists may well sound the horn of past and fouled IT Attacks from technological terrorists.

#twitterdown was trending yesterday faster than a black military chopper being reported to have crashed. Facebook itself was subject to many downfalls such as this in the past 18 months. With 1.5 billion users worldwide according to the New York Times, they were sorted within a couple of hours.

 

if you ate having trouble seeing this image please check your settings
Loading new tweets was no longer an option

 
For most of us Twitter is a way to get our blog posts out there, and seen by as many people as we can. Social media has also become a sounding board for many things this world has become disgruntled about. Freedom of speech has taken on a whole new meaning for some, as quite often we are reprimanded for what we may say. But it’s ok, we can say it on here many tweeters just scroll by and it will just pass by unnoticed.  For every social media platform that is born there is an app, and our phones become crammed with them. A way to spend our time, but is it distracting us from what is really going on?

I was shocked by how I felt when I couldn’t post no tweets. I’m new to blogging but I love it. It’s a creativity that I didn’t know I had. But the fact that some of us rely on social media as much as we do is scary. Different words will cleverly be used but ‘worldwide disruption’ leaves me staggered. Will I change? Proberbly not,  I may well forget about it tomorrow or until the next time.

So……on we go taking our time up by checking our phones every 15 minutes to see if the numbers have grown. Rushing home because we have a few blog ideas that we need to get out there. Social media good or bad?……I love it!

What social media are you on? What management apps do you use? And how often are you ON social media sites? Comment below and let us know.

 

Tony Martin at brainfood

 

Leave a Reply

