Now I love Christmas I really do, I never used to I have to admit and the reason for that will become clear soon to you especially if you follow this blog. But at present and for the last few years I love it but, whilst that is now where I am with it something is beginning to bother me.

I was in one of the big supermarket leaders the other day and already they are stocking Christmas produce both of the food type and the type to make your house look like santas grotto in a style that even he would not allow. The shelves are being stocked in line with the Halloween stuff as opposed to last year it was slightly later than the afore mentioned.

My question(s): is the the anticipation of Christmas being stolen away from us in a bid for the supermarkets to increase their profits? Is Christmas fast becoming more materialistic? Is the pleasure of the secrecy in buying presents and presenting a supervise feast for visiting relatives being put to one side in the name of having more of what someone else has not? Is it going to get to the point where we are shopping for Christmas produce ( not presents) earlier and earlier, in July or August for instance?

Below is my theory on what I think is happening, watch it don’t watch it the choice is yours?

But please, please, remember that Christmas isn’t about how much food you have or how many presents you THINK you should try and buy your children then post the pictures for all to see on Facebook in the hope that someone will comment “wow you have done well this Christmas”. Isn’t doing well at Christmas having your family round, especially the ones you don’t get to see a lot and filling the house with love and laughter?

Here is my theory.

Leave a Reply

