I have not posted for a few weeks my attention and focus has been on other things, namely I did the IKANO Nottingham half marathon. It is something I have wanted to do for ages and at last I applied for one a while back. My slimming world consultant (yes you just read that) asked if I wanted to do one so I took the plunge!

What a great day, I mean a really great day the commradery amongst runners was astounding people coming past you or even matching your pace to offer you words of encouragement. It was even coming from spectators at the side lines people I have never met before encouraging me by name (your name is placed on your race number). It was a total feeling of people coming together forgetting all their differences, dividing opinions and beliefs for just this one day. People of all shapes and sizes and of all ages testing their metal and achieving something they can look back on.

A well organised event and the weather was fabulous, foggy in the morning and then finally the sun reared its head at about 10.30. Water and lucozade was being copiously dished out along the way, however some of it was also being brought back up by the few that felt ill. I did feel for a young girl by the roadside surrounded by St. John’s ambulance as she was sat on the kerb head bowed with the contents of her stomach being emptied onto the tarmac, her friend responding to a first aider’s question of what she has had to eat “oh she only had a small pie this morning”.

It a sense of achievement and the adrenaline still pumps for a short time after, but the feeling of knowing that you are fit enough to do something like this does give you a sense of comfortability (if there is such a word). I was never-at least not until now-fit when I was younger and I was a big boy when I was at school and it has taken me till I am 43 to be at the fitness that I am at now it has taken some time but it can be done. Seeing some of the people do the race it shows that any one of us can do what we focus on what we believe we can do. I have said many times before we are all amazing people and we are capable of so much more that we think we are.

If there is something you want to achieve…………DO IT, really do it. Convince yourself through blind faith that you can do what you set out to do. What’s the worse that can happen? Goals are achieved merely through not giving up on what you want.
DO IT………DO IT NOW.

Leave a Reply

